Just another WordPress.com site Adventures with Luci, Sheri's therapy welch corgi dog.

Luci makes a new friend

Luci and I visited Hillcrest Baptist Medical Center’s three children’s hospitals on Wednesday 22 February 10:00AM. We met two other service therapy dogs and their owners for our rounds. One of the dogs was named Bear and he was a large wire-haired pointer Graffon, the other a female Australian Sheppard named Marney. Luci has been with these two several times and has gotten to know them.

However, on this particular morning Bear appeared to have a special interest in Luci and wanted to ‘play with her as he would make short ponces toward her!’ Luci didn’t know how to handle the playfulness of Bear’s affection and would do everything in her power to keep clear of him! He never gave up! Marney is a laid back dog and takes things slow and easy. She is affectionate but doesn’t push herself on people. Most staff know her and Bear because they’ve been in the PUP program for several years.

When we got the children’s reception room there were lots of kids there and soon we began to interact. One particular toddler, age 10 months, was excited about Luci and wanted to hug her which was easier than hugging the larger dogs! Luci appeared to connect with this little tot right away and as I kneeled beside Luci, he would come running in his little bare feet to give her a hug and then hug me:) He did this over and over as his energy was much like of the ‘energizer bunny!’ His snow white blonde curls, big blue eyes, and constant grin was endearing and we were mesmerized with his affection and joyous spirit!

Little blonde curls’s mother was sitting nearby and told me that her mom had a poodle that he loved and played and hugged the same. I thought he probably hugged me because I was much like his grandmother who must be and a big part of this play action!

This went on for 15 or more minutes and it was one of the most fun and rewarding adventures we’ve had thus far with the children:) My thoughts settled in after we got home and I concluded that, “God certainly loves the little children and service therapy dogs! To be able to spread that much goodwill, happiness, smiles, and trust with the world to see!”

I said to my hubby a few days later, “I’ve not done anything in my life that has brought me more happiness, internal joy and peace as what the Lord has given me than being the owner of little Luci, our service therapy pup who makes the world a much brighter place for so many!” Truly, I meant and mean it from the depths of my heart and soul…God has richly blessed me with this age and stage of my life.

Sheri DeLoach
February 26, 2012
Copyright pending

Leave a Reply

