Just another WordPress.com site Adventures with Luci, Sheri's therapy welch corgi dog.

Hello friends,
Cynthia Howerter graciously agreed to be a guest blogger ! Cynthia is a dynamic Christian woman whose passion to write stories based on Christian principals. Please visit her site, ‘Soar with Eagles’ ! You will be lifted and inspired !

I’ll Call You and We’ll Have Lunch
Cynthia Howerter | August 16, 2011 at 9:06 am | Categories: Uncategorized | URL: http://wp.me/p1GBfF-32

“Hey, I’ll call you and we’ll have lunch.” Ever say that to someone? Yeah, me, too.
Ever follow through with that? I’m serious!
Do you ever follow through with that comment? Or is it just something that sounds nice to say to someone, but you never get around to making that phone call? Hmm, that’s what I thought.
So, if that’s the case, why don’t you make the statement in a more truthful way: “Hey, why don’t I call you and we’ll have lunch, but I’m sure you’ve already figured out that I don’t really mean it.” Wooh. Well, isn’t that what you really mean? I know. Truth hurts.
I was 23 years old when I moved to Philadelphia as a newlywed. Because the only person I knew was my husband, I was anxious to make friends. As I began to meet other women, they would invariably say to me, “I’ll call you and we’ll get together for lunch.”
I would smile, my heart full of joy, because I believed that a budding friendship was forming. I would happily go home and wait for the woman to call and set up a lunch date. And I would wait. And wait.
Then one day, after being falsely told for the thousandth time that the person would call so we could have lunch, I overheard a mother tell her young child, “Honey, say what you mean and mean what you say.”
Say what you mean and mean what you say. What a revelation!
Tell me, dear friend, which one do you prefer:
“Why don’t we do lunch? What about next Monday? Or is Wednesday better?”
OR
“I’ll call you and we’ll have lunch. But you and I both know I’m not going to follow through with this invitation.”
Know that whichever statement you select tells a lot about the person you are. Is that a wince or a smile?
It doesn’t stop with lunches. Do you promise others that you’ll help them with a project or that you’ll call them later to chat? Do you promise to go to the movies with a friend and then, at the last minute, call and renege because something better came up?
There are times when it’s necessary to back out of an engagement. But on a daily basis, are we making promises we do not intend to keep?
Are your words honorable and true? Or are they undependable?
You are the light that gives light to the world. A city that is built on a hill cannot be hidden. And people don’t hide a light under a bowl. They put it on the lampstand so the light shines for all the people in the house. In the same way, you should be a light for other people. Live so that they will see the good things you do and will praise your Father in heaven. Matthew 5:14-16.
Add a comment to this post

WordPress.com | Thanks for flying with WordPress!
Manage Subscriptions | Unsubscribe | Express yourself. Start a blog.
Trouble clicking? Copy and paste this URL into your browser: http://subscribe.wordpress.com

Comments on: "I’ll Call You and We’ll have Lunch" (1)

  1. Thanks for having me as a guest on your blog today, Sheri! I hope my article touches the heart of everyone who reads it.

Leave a Reply

